Rising Up and Out of Bad Attitudes The Way God Designed

    

image

You know those days when it’s rainy outside, overcast and it just makes you feel depresssed?(funny how the weather does that)  Or you get back from a long, depressing day at work? Maybe your friend said something super unkind and it depresses you. You lash out at your family and you feel super moody.  You think sad thoughts like:

     “What if i never find Mr. Right? What if i don’t get accepted into college? What if all of my friends go away to a college far away?” I don’t know about you, but i think of a bleak future and focus on all of the “what ifs”of my future when I’m depressed. Do you ever feel this way?
     You see, whenever I get into this mood, I spend a lot of time feeling sorry for myself. I get myself into a tizzy and then i start crying and i feel frustrated, depressed and defeated. Does it ever occur to me that i can reach out to God? Eventually yes, but i think our sinful condition (or that little devil on your shoulder) makes us wanna stay there and throw a little pity-party for ourselves. This mentality (i think) is Satan trying to keep us apart from God. And I’m VERY ashamed that sometimes I  do think:
      ” I could go to God, but right now I just wanna cry over my pathetic life.” Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t think crying is a bad thing. I think it’s the way God enabled us to let go of some of our stress, heartache or whatever’s bothering us. And letting go and crying does make you feel a little better, but the difference is: Do you stay there all day and stay depressed? Or do you  rise up to the challenge, and  say to that little devil “Ya know what? I’m finished with you. God can get me through this. He wants the best for me unlike you.”  Do you know what this pity-party attitude really  says? It says:
     “I don’t want you God. I just want to stay here and complain about the life you have given me.” Sounds pretty awful doesn’t it? And you know what it all has in common? It is a wrong and selfish attitude! This in no way reflects God or Jesus. It reflects our sinfulness and imperfection. By dwelling on disheartening thoughts, we let unpleasant circumstances rob us of our joy, peace, kindness, and happiness. (Notice the first three items are all fruits of the spirit. Yet another reflection of the godly women we are supposed to be) We dig a grave for our happiness when we stay down here.
     I LOVE the song Fighter by Jamie Grace. The chorus goes like this:
     🎶She’s a fighter, got that fire. When they thought she’d fade away. Throws a fist up, as she gets up, growin stronger everyday. When she gets down on her knees she finds the courage to believe. She’s a fighter, she’s a fighter, who inspires me. 🎶
     This song really encourages me and whenever I’m feeling down, I want to be the girl Jamie describes in her song. Seriously, ya’ll should click the link and hear this song. I also like the song Overcomer by Mandisa
     🎶You’re an overcomer! Stay in the fight ’till the final round. You’re not goin’ under. ‘Cuz God is holdin you right now! You might be down for a moment, feelin’ like it’s hopeless, but that’s when he reminds you. You’re and overcomer! You’re an overcomer! 🎶
     I love listening to these songs because they inspire me to change.  I also love this verse for the same reason.  
     “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13)
     Sister, I challenge you this week to change your attitude in one area of your life. For me, it’s talking nice to my siblings and not shouting at them when I feel frustrated and angry. I know, it’s super hard, but remember Philippians 4:13 when they refuse to listen to you and you just get so angry ya just wanna burst. Does anybody feel like that sometimes with their siblings? In these times, I just try the best I can to bite my tongue and say a silent prayer to God asking for Peace, Love and Kindness.
      🎶As you do every single thing that you do to the glory of who made you.  ‘Cuz he made you to do every single thing that you do to bring a smile to his face and tell the story of grace with every move that you make.🎶    -Do Everything by Steven Curtis Chapman
   Remember, “With God All Things are possible.” (Matthew 19:26)
God Bless Y’all! 💜
Allie

    

2 thoughts on “Rising Up and Out of Bad Attitudes The Way God Designed

  1. Allie,
    Thank you for your encouraging post. I often feel sorry for myself when things go wrong and want to cry and pout and worry instead of go to the Lord. I think it is also very prideful, thinking you can handle this all on your own.
    Thank you for your godly encouragement. I hope you have a lovely week.
    Schylie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment